Tap to see activity photos

Tap to see activity photos

As part of the Public Information Unit’s (PIU) Promotion and Environmental Consciousness, the Laguna Lake Development Authority (LLDA) in cooperation with the Office of the Presidential Adviser on Environmental Protection (OPAEP), and the Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats (CALD), respectively, held the awarding of the KALIKHASAN – a climate change awareness and advocacy campaign.

Building on the momentum of the recent United Nations Climate Change Conference or Conference of the Parties (COP) 21 in Paris last December 2015, KaLikhaSan is a national youth songwriting contest on climate change adaptation that aims to make the youth aware of critical environmental issues and their role in building climate-smart and resilient communities.

The awarding ceremony was held at the first-ever Green Building of Government-the LLDA Headquarters, National Ecology Center East Avenue, Diliman Quezon City. Aside from the cash prize, the composer of the winning song will also have a chance to perform his/her winning entry in an international event outside the Philippines.

The screening committee shortlisted six (6) finalists from the submitted entries, however, due to unavoidable circumstances only three (3) finalists were able to perform. Musical arrangements from Mr. Julius Teodoro, Mr. Mark Jay Felipe and Mr. Daryl Cielo were performed during the awarding ceremony. The judges led by Mr. Noel Cabangon, a known artist/composer, along with Ms. Gang Badoy, founder of RockEd Philippines,  Mr. Francis de Veyra, a Musical Director and member of Radioactive Sago Project, and Mr. Aldwin Anastacio, LLDA Choirmaster, selected the first, second and third place winners from these finalists based on the following criteria: voice quality, melody, lyrics and overall performance. The winners respectively received a cash prize of P10,000 (3rd Prize) , P15,000 (2nd Prize) and P25,000 (1st Prize) respectively and a washing machine each from Sharp Philippines.

Third Place Winner – Daryl Cielo ( “Paraiso” )
Second Place Winner – Mark Jay Felipe ( “Iligtas ang Kalikasan” )
First Place Winner – Julius Teodoro ( “Paghimlay ng Mundo”)

Also, there in the event to perform and to support the said advocacy is the band, Acoustic Indulgence.